Starry Spangles

Every once in a while, you just need to remind yourself who sings the Star Spangled Banner the best. So that’s why you go to Youtube and watch 4-5 different videos, comparing one with the next. Right? Doesn’t everybody do that? Yeah that’s what I thought, you liars.

Because we all do this so often, the following list might seem redundant, but when have I ever let redundancy stop me? (Mostly always.)

First, we have a couple country music representations. Everybody knows that country folks are the most patriotic people, so it makes sense that they would have representation on this list.

Faith Hill: Faith gives us a straightforward, solid vocal performance with a few personal touches at the end. As you watch, she leaves you with no questions about where your national loyalties lie.

Dixie Chicks: My top Strengthsfinder trait is Harmony, so how could I not like this? I remember there was some controversy when they sang this because they performed it in a different key or something, but come on folks, you can’t deny talent and obvious bluegrass talent.

Jennifer Hudson: With pre-singing body language suggesting nerves, her vocals commanded that mic like few others could ever do. I’m just glad her pipes didn’t bring down the stands.

Josh Groban: The male representative. He’s Josh Groban, do I need to say anything else?

Kelly Clarkson: If you ask me, Kelly has the strongest voice of any American Idol winner. What was great about this performance though, is she put the song above herself by keeping vocal gymnastics to a minimum. Instead, she drew us into the song by her performance. The children’s choir was a nice touch.

Best performance of all time Whitney Houston: Was she even trying? She looked as if she might have just been lounging around her living room singing to her golden retriever. But she sounded incredible. Maybe that’s what you would call effortless?

Runners-up to this list: Glee Cast, Carrie Underwood, and Beyonce.

5 thoughts on “Starry Spangles

  1. I am so unbelievably happy that you included my man JG 🙂 Though with this list it would be hard for even I to say that he wins overall….I never thought I’d hear myself say that. Well played, Tyler…Well played, the Star-Spangled Banner brings out the best.

    • You are correct, the Star Spangled Banner shows an artist’s true colors. I have to guess that if JG was singing at the Super Bowl, he would have an even better performance.

  2. PS: I watched Whitney Houston (well, again.. because I’ve seen that one many times) and literally teared up…hands down amazing. Love your post, Tyler!

    • Chelsea, how could I have forgotten this? Thank you for adding it to my post, because it deserves just as much attention (if not more) than any of these videos I posted.

Leave a comment